It was a fabulous night of funk-hip dance music with The New Groovement on March 18th!

The non-profit Celebrate Shuswap Society was established September 23, 2021 with this purpose: To foster and present live music and other performing arts events in the Shuswap region and develop audience support for culture throughout the community. 


The Motown Show

April 29, 2023

The Motown show was created to bring the magical sound of that popular musical era that came out of Detroit. Motown music dominated the air waves in the sixties and still resonates with audiences today. They will play hits by The Temptations, Smokey Robinson & The Miracles, Marvin Gaye & Tammy Terell, The Supremes, Jr. Walker and Stevie Wonder. This show features a six-piece group led by the dynamic Vancouver artist, Mike Henry, who has several bands including Mostly Marley and Funkdalicious. Mike was born in Louisiana and developed his strong soulful voice performing with the vocal group, the Gospel Ambassadors. Prior to moving to Vancouver in 1989, he performed in Atlantic City, Reno, and then San Francisco where he worked with R&B bands. He has toured throughout Asia, Europe, and the Middle East. Joining Mike will be Dave Say on saxophone, Anthony Anderson on guitar, Roger Salloum on keyboards, Nino Dipasquale on drums, and the talented vocalist Janelle Reid, who has degrees in music and theatre.



March 18th – Dance party with the Funk/Hip-Hop sensation, The New Groovement (see their website to learn more – The New Goovement )

April 29th – Dance party with the Motown Review!



Members get a $5 discount for all shows except the Shuswap North Okanagan Rail Trail fundraisers, have the first opportunity to purchase tickets, have an opportunity to volunteer at events and get free admission and will receive email updates for all events. This is a lifetime membership. Price includes the $2 processing fee.
Patrons are members who also receive recognition on this website for sponsoring the society and helping it succeed. Patrons have access to the balcony seats at Song Sparrow Hall and will be invited to special events.
Price includes the $2 processing fee.


Celebrate Shuswap Society is dedicated to bringing quality, live entertainment to the Shuswap. Initially, the focus will be to present dance parties featuring some of the best bands in the province.
The Society is managed by a volunteer board with nine directors, three who serve for 3 years, three who serve for 2 years and three that serve for 1 year, so that new directors can be added every year.

Society directors  (Back – Rod Schumacher, Patti Thurston, Joanne Vivian and Cole Robillard, Front – Jim Cooperman, Sylvia Lindgren and Kristine Wickner, missing – Kelly Moores and Phaedra Idzan   photo by kathi Cooperman

The current directors for the 2022/23 board are: Kelly Moores, Sylvia Lindgren, Jim Cooperman, Patti Thurston, Joanne Vivian, Rod Shumacher, Phaedra Idzan and Cole Robillard.
To help get the Society up and running, Patrons have donated $100 each to help cover the costs of this website and to cover the costs associated with hosting the first dance party.
Patrons to date include: Society directors Kelly Moores, Sylvia Lindgren, Kristin Wickner, Jim Cooperman, Cole Robillard, Joanne Vivian, Rod Schumacher, plus: Don Cavers, Rhys Waters, Yves and Manon Cusson, Kim and Heather Arnold, Catherine Rankin, Brenda Melnychuk, Mary Claire Lord, Warren Bell (x3), Cindy Derkaz, Lois Higgins, Sandy de Boer, Ruth Brighouse, Lyndon Menard, April Bell, Markus Jaeger, Lori Tolerico, Phil McIntyre-Paul, In The Groove Studio, Joyce Leach, Verna Brown, Diana Walker, Kirsten McDowell, Kari Wilkinson, Ian McTavish, Kevin Flynn, Wende Winn, Ken Nielsen, Debby Nielsen, Carol Kergan, Bernie Weare, John Drew and Rochelle Dale.